Forensic Science Faculty Appointed to Texas Commission

Sarah Kerrigan and Sheree Hughes-Stamm were appointed by Governor Gregg Abbott to serve on the Texas Forensic Science Commission (TFSC), a statewide body which accredits crime labs and investigates complaints of professional negligence or misconduct in forensic science.

The nine-member Commission, which was established in 2005, is one of a few statewide agencies to serve as a watchdog in the forensic science disciplines and has tackled some controversial issues, including the interpretation of microscopic hair analysis, mixed DNA samples, and bite marks. Most recently, the Commission was involved in developing a process for collecting DNA from the bodies of almost 400 suspected unauthorized migrants found along the border near the Rio Grande as well as an audit of the Austin Police Department DNA laboratory which is no longer operational.

. . . read more

More at the College

Member of The Texas State University System